Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Latest Threads
thomas and friends mini series
Last Post: sunhuntin
Yesterday 10:30 PM
» Replies: 2864
» Views: 1413324
Plarail in Korea - 프라레일
Last Post: Finno
Yesterday 07:00 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 128
J-04 Bridge Differences
Last Post: Super
Yesterday 06:29 PM
» Replies: 14
» Views: 155
Rarest Tomy Thomas Trains
Last Post: Muddy Poppins
Yesterday 06:24 PM
» Replies: 82
» Views: 27310
Muddy Poppins YouTube Video's
Last Post: Finno
Yesterday 06:02 PM
» Replies: 486
» Views: 108403
Super's Mod's, Customs & Layout
Last Post: Super
Yesterday 05:01 AM
» Replies: 359
» Views: 143030
Road turntable + Terence turntable help
Last Post: Super
09-21-2019 10:33 PM
» Replies: 21
» Views: 290
The New 3D Printing Thread
Last Post: Nigels
09-21-2019 08:37 AM
» Replies: 133
» Views: 9810
I wish Minis were this quality (Cars Min...
Last Post: Super
09-21-2019 08:15 AM
» Replies: 30
» Views: 1705
Modifications you can do at home
Last Post: Super
09-20-2019 06:25 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 92
Engineer Bob's Videos
Last Post: Super
09-20-2019 06:21 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 35
Surprisingly Unpopular Thomas Toys
Last Post: DalaGStanator
09-19-2019 11:08 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 113

Inspiration needed
#1
In need of inspiration. O consider myself an educated scientist but this stuff has me stumped. Would like to build a 3 loop simple small track with the kit in the pics. Please help!! Thanks in advance

[Image: 15-E04824-DD84-404-E-8-D5-A-CAA7-C21-DA0-AB.jpg]

[Image: 8-F07-E6-F4-6036-489-A-9-F27-1-F4-A11-DE06-A0.jpg]
Reply
#2
When you say 3 loop simple small track do you mean 3 loops between each other (i.e. as you would with different radius loops on say HO/OO)?

If so I would suggest the easiest way would be to use the double tracks for the two inner loops, then the single curves with a straight halfway round the half loop to make the loop wider.

You could connect the various loops using the various points/switches along with some of the smaller straights, half curves etc...

If you want to add some height you could also use the curved risers to raise up the track coming off say a set of points or similar.
Happily collecting things all my life... Big Grin
[-] The following 1 user Likes Nigels's post:
  • Finno
Reply
#3
I mean to have at least three trains running at once. My baby girl just sits there and watches them for hours. Great peace for me!!!
[-] The following 1 user Likes jonesejm's post:
  • Finno
Reply
#4
The inventory is expanding I see.

Whatever you do, don't go specifically buying any more regular curve track, I've got about 400 of the d*** things going spare, I'll easily send you some of them! The same applies to curve ramps A and B.
[-] The following 1 user Likes chrisjo's post:
  • Finno
Reply
#5
Form 2 loops using knapford station. Your red circular track can form the third loop
My Trackmaster/Tomy/Plarail Photo Gallery Page (over 600+ photos and still under construction)
https://www.flickr.com/photos/183311600@N03/
[-] The following 1 user Likes leylandvictory2's post:
  • Finno
Reply
#6
You have more than enough in that pile of pieces to make more loops especially with the risers and slopes. Just start with a basic loop and start another over and under that then intersect another all the while adjusting each accordingly. Take your time as I am sure your daughter will love watching you moving around too.
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
[-] The following 1 user Likes Super's post:
  • Finno
Reply
#7
Hi, jonesejm. I've just built this layout for my son yesterday. I hope it gives you some ideas.

[Image: IMG-9899-2.jpg]

Some features of this layout:
- It has 3 independent loops without intersections so trains won't collide.
- By setting points, a train can be sent from the engine sheds or the yard to any loop.
- All loops can be traveled in reverse.
- Most tracks are not obstructed so kids can push trains around easily.
- It's kinda realistic for a steam railway with sheds, yard, water and coal station, etc.

Plus, I plan to change or disassemble to right-half of this layout frequently to open some play space, while keeping the left-half mostly intact.

I've been using a free mac software called RailModeller Express to design my layouts. It's quite useful for prototyping:

[Image: IMG-5367.jpg]
[-] The following 2 users Like hystudio's post:
  • Super, Finno
Reply
#8
Thats a nice Layout Hyst
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
Reply
#9
Thanks hyst that looks great. I really want to build a tiered layout with the underground stations. Do people usually keep these as separate loops or connect together?
Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





Private Messages
Please login or register to use this functionality.

Statistics
» Members: 619
» Latest member: imafool
» Forum threads: 3,316
» Forum posts: 35,810

Full Statistics

Online Staff
There are no staff members currently online.

Who's online
There are currently no members online.

Advertiser