Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Latest Threads
OMG-OMG-OMG
Last Post: Super
Today 10:45 AM
» Replies: 34
» Views: 645
Tomy/Trackmaster Serial Number types and...
Last Post: Nigels
Today 10:35 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 26
What did you do to your trains today?
Last Post: Super
Today 09:56 AM
» Replies: 347
» Views: 176898
thomas and friends mini series
Last Post: Super
Today 05:01 AM
» Replies: 2904
» Views: 1438761
Hornby 2019 Christmas Train Set!
Last Post: Super
Yesterday 10:34 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 46
The New 3D Printing Thread
Last Post: Nigels
Yesterday 04:42 AM
» Replies: 161
» Views: 11647
Plarail TOMY Thomas NEW RELEASES
Last Post: Super
10-19-2019 07:36 PM
» Replies: 732
» Views: 260686
A Unique & Well Done Complete Custom
Last Post: leylandvictory2
10-18-2019 10:59 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 99
a puzzle... tomy or meccano?
Last Post: sunhuntin
10-18-2019 07:22 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 103
Pomp & Circumstance, The Royal Train
Last Post: Super
10-17-2019 07:19 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 53
Flooded Shinkansen
Last Post: leylandvictory2
10-16-2019 09:53 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 224
Plarail Blue Amtrak exist?
Last Post: leylandvictory2
10-15-2019 07:52 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 139

Fuses in non-TnA engines?
#1
I've seen a thin bit of wire on a little section of PCB in Talk n Action engines to function as a fuse, but this summer I came across an earlier (white rimmed face, old dates) US Edward in a thrift store that had the same fuse arrangemet in the tender. Has anyone else seen this in early US (I'm guessing Tomica World era) or other normal engines?

[Image: IMG-20190503-150827-1.jpg]

The similarly old Henry in the same bag did not have it, and I never remember seeing it on any other Thomas engines, not that I've had every one I own open. Was this something Tomy may have thought was needed to sell the toys in the US to fulfill some US safety requirement on kids toys, and eventually the requirement was dropped or relaxed?
[-] The following 1 user Likes DuckGWR's post:
  • Super
Reply
#2
I never heard somebody can get electric shock from batteries. Fewer wires are needed due to innovations?
My Trackmaster/Tomy/Plarail Photo Gallery Page (over 600+ photos and still under construction)
https://www.flickr.com/photos/183311600@N03/
[-] The following 1 user Likes leylandvictory2's post:
  • Super
Reply
#3
You couldn't get a real shock from a AA or C cell battery without... seriously trying to, but the fuse would probably be for a short circuit, the thin wire would burn up under high current flow rather than the battery
Reply
#4
I didn't know about these until Mr Ripley and PGMike had talked about them in the TnA engines. I think that these fuse type wires were supposed to protect small circuit boards but I could be wrong about that. But if what you have pictures are from engines without any circuit boards I wouldn't think that the motors needed to be saved from a spike from a 1.5 volt 'C' battery.

I think PGMike had a video about him explaining and replacing one of these I will find it.

Ah, here it is...



[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
[-] The following 1 user Likes Super's post:
  • DuckGWR
Reply
#5
There was one in the tender of a UK Tomica World Gordon that I repaired the other day (replaced broken battery terminal). The scrap James tender from which I got the replacement terminal had one in it as well.
[-] The following 2 users Like chrisjo's post:
  • Super, DuckGWR
Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:


Password:





Private Messages
Please login or register to use this functionality.

Statistics
» Members: 626
» Latest member: dumber
» Forum threads: 3,343
» Forum posts: 35,819

Full Statistics

Online Staff
Super's profile Super
Super Moderator

Who's online
There are currently 19 online users. [Complete List]
» 1 Member(s) | 18 Guest(s)
Avatar

Advertiser