two speed USA type diesel with matching carriages

16 Replies, 13086 Views

[Image: r8S4X3F.jpg]

is this a particularly rarte or valuable train does anybody know please?
[-] The following 5 users Like bollard's post:
  • , fred16850, mod thana, MuddyPoppins, Super
I am no expert about these types of Plarails, but judging from the Tomica World sticker on the front of the engine, I would say that it's very old and most likely very rare. It looks to be in very good shape and is probably a fairly valuable piece.
Play nice & have fun!!Smile
(This post was last modified: 08-06-2017, 10:55 PM by Super.)
[-] The following 2 users Like MuddyPoppins's post:
  • bollard, mod thana
so basically if the engines or cars come with yellow wheels, they must be really old.
[-] The following 3 users Like leylandvictory2's post:
  • , bollard, mod thana
I had the same question about this train several years ago but can't find the Thread with the answers and thanks to idiots at PhotoBucket I can't find the pictures either. What I remember...

First this is not a model of a USA train nor is it a Diesel. It is a Japanese Electric train.

The one I had said Tomica Express I think but don't quote me on that as the memory cells aren't as sharp as they once were. I think there may have also been a version call the Red Express.

As far as yellow wheels, I think most of the earlier Tomys had yellow wheels, not all and not necessarily really old.

I will try to find the info but thanks to the fools at PhotoBucket I am not sure how well I will do.
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
[-] The following 4 users Like Super's post:
  • bollard, mod thana, MuddyPoppins, Ucwepn
that's interesting super, i know there's a similar newer model of the type with the raised cab, and yes, what you say makes sense with the pantograph arms on the middle carriage.

the early designs are quite quirkily attractive.

[Image: eZCVr0B.jpg]

this is the modern one that i'm thinking of