Caitlin - not working - Talking James & More

22 Replies, 24111 Views

Hi ... new here. I bought a tub of trains and am working on getting them up and running for my grandson. I've cleaned etc. a few just refuse to work. All wires are in place, gears look good. How do I tell if it just needs a new motor. I have one I would love to get running ... Caitlin and her cars. I also got a Ferdinand with cars and he is just lovely... runs great.

I got Percy running although slow; no hair or gunk. One Thomas runs, one does not. These are all from about 2009 - 2012. Have new batteries in all. Not sure how to proceed; Caitlin's motor turns (not froze) ... Since I am an artist,musician grandmother I need some help Smile

[Image: 20171212_093819.jpg]

Thanks .. Victoria
[-] The following 3 users Like vikjohn's post:
  • DalaGStanator, mod thana, Super
Hello Victoria and welcome to BluePlasticTracks

You have come to the right place for help as many of our members have experience in repairing these trains. I have not had a Caitlyn but some of our members have and they would know which type of motor she has. I can only assume its a flat drive. One question that might help is...

Does the motor make a sound when turned on but doesn't move the wheels?

With the battery removed and the switch in the 'On' position, do the rear, drive wheels, move?

Others may have more questions or ideas on how to help and narrow this down.
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
[-] The following 1 user Likes Super's post:
  • mod thana
perhaps the motor is not connected to the gear on the wheel. I had a similar situation with my Neville. I unscrew the motor from the chassis and I reinstall the motor, it runs great Smile. Sadly this doesn't apply to all the scenarios but worth a try.
I did exactly that and nothing...
(This post was last modified: 12-14-2017, 12:14 AM by Super.)