Plarail YouTuber Matsuoka Sensei is interviewed

2 Replies, 241 Views

The following interview is by Wani Books News Crunch's Mochizuki Yuki with longtime Plarail YouTuber, Matsuoka Sensei:

Here is an excerpt:

The date of the first video posted was November 22, 2011. You've been active on YouTube since quite early on.
Matsuoka: At the time, my computer's specs were low and I couldn't save the videos I shot as a hobby, so I ended up posting them on YouTube as a "save destination." There were videos of Plarail, but they were of no genre, such as videos of stray cats in the city, and videos edited from live footage of a band member I know.

Did you shoot videos of Plarail because you've always liked it? 
Matsuoka: I used to play with Plarail a lot when I was little, but I didn't always like it. When I was working part-time at Book Off when I was a student, I happened to come across a book about Plarail, and suddenly thought to myself, "There's no one who is an expert on Plarail".   I once again became interested in the existence of Plarail, and started taking videos.

I see. Something happened to me when I was in college and I started posting Plarail videos. 

Matsuoka: That's right. Even after getting a job, I continued posting videos as a hobby. However, at that time, my personal life was at its lowest point, as I couldn't fit in at work, changed jobs four times in one year, and even developed a sleeping disorder . 

That must be quite exhausting both physically and mentally.